Skip to main content

2019 UNESCO Girls' and Women's Education Prize

Now accepting nominations

28 Mar 2019

UNGEI partner UNESCO has launched a call for nominations for the 2019 UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education, which annually honours outstanding and innovative contributions made by individuals, institutions and organisations to advance education for girls and women.

The Prize honours outstanding and innovative contributions made by individuals, institutions and organisations to advance girls’ and women’s education. It annually awards US $50,000 to two exceptional laureates whose work improves and promotes the educational prospects of girls and women, and, in turn, the quality of their lives.


Governments of UNESCO member states and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO are invited to nominate up to three individuals, institutions or organisations who have made strong contributions in favour of girls’ and women’s education. Interested candidates should contact the National Commission for UNESCO of their country, or an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO to be considered for nomination.


Nominated projects must meet the eligibility and selection criteria set by the Prize. They must be established and have been running for at least two years, show potential to be replicable and scalable, and contribute to one or more of the priority areas of the Prize.


The deadline for submissions is 28 May 2019 (midnight, Paris time). 

UNESCO GWE Prize 2019


Nominations must be submitted in English or French through the online platform, only accessible to UNESCO member states and NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO. This platform can be open to external candidates at the member states’ or NGOs’ request. Nominations will be assessed by an independent international jury of five experts on the basis of the project’s potential for impact, innovation and sustainability.

Based on the recommendations of the jury, the Director-General of UNESCO will announce the 2019 laureates awardees at an official ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters on 11 October 2019.

Established in 2015 and funded by the government of the People’s Republic of China, the Prize honours innovative practices advancing girls’ and women’s education.

For more information follow the links below and send further questions to

- Nomination process

- Selection criteria

More to explore

Latest content